Yes, an umpire can revoke a call of wide under specific circumstances.
Here's when an umpire must revoke a wide call according to the provided reference:
-
Contact with Bat or Person: The umpire shall revoke the call of Wide ball if there is contact between the ball and the striker's bat or person before the ball comes into contact with any fielder. (Reference 1: 22.3.1)
-
No Ball: The umpire shall revoke the call of Wide ball if the delivery is called a No ball. (Reference 1: 22.3.2)
Therefore, an umpire's decision to call a wide is not always final and can be overturned based on these specific events.